About AHS

Our goal is to examine current health challenges through the context of our ancestral heritage. In modern science, evolution is the default perspective for inquiry, yet in modern healthcare, evolution is almost nowhere to be seen. The Ancestral Health Symposium is dedicated to providing a forum for sharing scientific theories about how diet, lifestyle, and environment can shape human health.

Sign-up for AHS Updates!

Days Remaining Until AHS

Access Recorded Presentations

AHS18 Call for Proposals

Don’t miss your opportunity to submit your talk or poster proposal for AHS18.

The mission of the Ancestral Health Symposium is to provide a forum for theories and research which examine human health from an evolutionary perspective. Presentation proposals on all topics are welcome provided that they contribute to our collective discussion and understanding around evolutionary mismatch.

The deadline for proposal submissions is February 28, 2018.

Thanks to our Sponsors



The Journal of Evolution and Health

The Journal of Evolution and Health is a peer-reviewed open-access journal sponsored by the Ancestral Health Society. The Journal’s mission is to explore how evolution has shaped and constrained human and animal biology, to develop insights into the major factors affecting health, and to translate those insights into practical methods for improving human and animal health.

Recognizing that knowledge relevant to its mission is dispersed across many academic and clinical disciplines, the Journal of Evolution and Health is an interdisciplinary publication that seeks contributions from a broad range of sources and seeks to promote communication among scholars and clinicians.